A Pentagon of Stars

I was outside of my school on a clear night with a group of friends – well, acquaintances, actually – that I don’t recognize […] but whom I knew in my dream.

We were […] looking up at the beautiful, dark sky spread over our heads – a rich, elegant canopy studded with diamonds.  As the sky arched nearer the horizon line, the stars became more numerous and clustered closer together like thousands of tiny, white jewels […] surrounding us in a tremendous circle – for, if I spun around, I could see the entire sky covering us like a great dome and where this dome touched the ground in the distance, all the stars gathered in a breathtaking, shimmering strip that encircled us in its wide embrace.  Overhead, the stars were fewer and more widely scattered, but their beauty was no less mesmerizing.

[…] I was more awed and excited than anyone around me.  I noticed that some stars were clustered together in groups of two and I pointed out these dual stars to a boy who was my friend and about my age.  He was counting the stars – perhaps that was what we were doing outside – and he said to me that we should count the overhead stars first but I was more interested in simply star-gazing.

There was a short girl standing to my right […] who told me what I should do in order to see the stars.  I did what she said and I saw them – behind a distant house.  I saw through the house and there the stars were – only about five of them connected by glistening silver lines in the shape of a pentagon.  And then the area within the pentagon became filled with bright, shimmering light with a warm orange lining the center.  This light burst forth, glowing through the night and through the house, making it look as though the house was on fire – but instead of flames, it was brilliant light.  And then my concentration broke and the house became solid once more and I could no longer see through it to the stars.

The short girl told me to touch my fingers to the corners of my eyes and as I did so, that distant house faded away to reveal once again the stars behind it – no longer filled with that fiery brilliance but bare in their humble radiance, still connected with those silver lines – just the five of them.  “It’s just like those two recurring dreams I had,” I told the small girl next to me.

. rese

