Cave of Jewels

I was a […] young boy around ten or twelve years of age.  I escaped from my house and was running down the street, my arms stretched out at my sides like a bird.  […] I was free as I sprinted down that pavement.  I tried several times to fly, and after the third try […] I succeeded and rose into the sky, everything below me becoming tiny like toys.

I flew on, as though I were Superman – I might even have had a cape.  I flew over a place of great mountains […] that were studded with jewels and whose earth sparkled with tiny diamonds.  Some of these mountains had caves that also glowed with multi-colored gems, lighting their interiors with an ethereal glow.  One of these caves was very shallow – almost like a large dent on the side of a mountain.  This cave was very high, set in one of the largest, tallest mountain peaks.  Despite how shallow it was, it contained a lot of jewels – its floor was covered with stones that [..] shone […] and its stalagmites and stalactites were studded with rubies and diamonds.

It was here […] that a princess was imprisoned, tied to the sparkling cave walls.  It was odd, because I think she might have been me, since it was through her eyes that I saw the interior of the cave and beyond the mouth of the cave to the jeweled mountains outside.  At the same time, I was still the young boy, and I was so happy as I flew on to save this young princess who was no older than I – a princess that I knew was my true love.

. rese

